HOME

NEWCASTLE UNITED   1978/79  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1978/79

Div 2

42 13 3 5 35 24 4 5 12 16 31 42 8th   Table
Sat Aug 19 Division 2 Millwall Away Lost 1-2  
Wed Aug 23   Division 2 West Ham United Home Lost 0-3  
Sat Aug 26   Division 2 Luton Town Home Won 1-0  
Tue Aug 29     LC 2 Watford Away Lost 1-2  
Sat Sep 2   Division 2 Cambridge United Away Drew 0-0  
Sat Sep 9   Division 2 Blackburn Rovers Home Won 3-1  
Sat Sep 16   Division 2 Wrexham Away Drew 0-0  
Sat Sep 23   Division 2 Orient Home Drew 0-0  
Sat Sep 30   Division 2 Notts County Away Won 2-1  
Sat Oct 7   Division 2 Leicester City Home Won 1-0  
Sat Oct 14   Division 2 Sunderland Away Drew 1-1  
Sat Oct 21   Division 2 Charlton Athletic Away Lost 1-4  
Sat Oct 28   Division 2 Cardiff City Home Won 3-0  
Sat Nov 4   Division 2 Bristol Rovers Away Lost 0-2  
Sat Nov 11   Division 2 Millwall Home Won 1-0  
Sat Nov 18   Division 2 Luton Town Away Lost 0-2  
Wed Nov 22   Division 2 Cambridge United Home Won 1-0  
Sat Nov 25   Division 2 Oldham Athletic Home Drew 1-1  
Sat Dec 2   Division 2 Crystal Palace Away Lost 0-1  
Sat Dec 9   Division 2 Stoke City Home Won 2-0  
Sat Dec 16   Division 2 Fulham Away Won 3-1  
Sat Dec 23   Division 2 Burnley Home Won 3-1  
Tue Dec 26   Division 2 Sheffield United Away Lost 0-1  
Sat Dec 30   Division 2 Brighton & Hove Albion Away Lost 0-2  
Tue Jan 16     FAC 3 Torquay United Home Won 3-1  
Sat Jan 27     FAC 4 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Drew 1-1  
Sat Feb 3   Division 2 Orient Away Lost 0-2  
Sat Feb 17   Division 2 Leicester City Away Lost 1-2  
Thu Feb 22     FAC 4 replay Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Lost 0-1  
Sat Feb 24   Division 2 Sunderland Home Lost 1-4  
Sat Mar 3   Division 2 Charlton Athletic Home Won 5-3  
Sat Mar 10   Division 2 Cardiff City Away Lost 1-2  
Sat Mar 24   Division 2 West Ham United Away Lost 0-5  
Wed Mar 28     Division 2 Wrexham Home Abandoned*  
Sat Mar 31   Division 2 Oldham Athletic Away Won 3-1  
Wed Apr 4   Division 2 Preston North End Home Won 4-3  
Sat Apr 7   Division 2 Crystal Palace Home Won 1-0  
Tue Apr 10   Division 2 Burnley Away Lost 0-1  
Sat Apr 14   Division 2 Sheffield United Home Lost 1-3  
Mon Apr 16   Division 2 Preston North End Away Drew 0-0  
Wed Apr 18   Division 2 Notts County Home Lost 1-2  
Sat Apr 21   Division 2 Fulham Home Drew 0-0  
Wed Apr 25   Division 2 Blackburn Rovers Away Won 3-1  
Sat Apr 28   Division 2 Stoke City Away Drew 0-0  
Wed May 2   Division 2 Bristol Rovers Home Won 3-0  
Sat May 5   Division 2 Brighton & Hove Albion Home Lost 1-3  
Tue May 8     Division 2 Wrexham Home Won 2-0  
                   
 

* The Newcastle v Wrexham Second Division match at St James' Park on Wednesday March 28th 1979 was abandoned at half time due to rain. The score was 1-1 at the time - match void. The attendance at that match was 7,152 which was the lowest post-war League crowd at the ground. When the fixture was re-staged in May the attendance had dropped even further - to 7,134.

                   

 


For dates, venues, teams, scorers 
(and many programme covers)
of every Community Shield/Charity Shield match

click here

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk