MANCHESTER CITY   1978/79  results

 

 Home

 Away

Season

Div

P W D L F A W D L F A Pts Pos

1978/79

Div 1

42 9 5 7 34 28 4 8 9 24 28 39 15th Table
 
Sat Aug 19 Division 1 Derby County Away Drew 1-1
Tue Aug 22   Division 1 Arsenal Home Drew 1-1
Sat Aug 26   Division 1 Liverpool Home Lost 1-4
Tue Aug 29     LC 2 Grimsby Town Home Won 2-0
Sat Sep 2   Division 1 Norwich City Away Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 9   Division 1 Leeds United Home Won 3-0
Wed Sep 13     UEFA 1 - 1 Leg Twente Enschede Away Drew 1-1
Sat Sep 16   Division 1 Chelsea Away Won 4-1
Sat Sep 23   Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Home Won 2-0
Wed Sep 27     UEFA 1 - 2 Leg Twente Enschede Home Won 3-2  (4-3 aggregate)
Sat Sep 30   Division 1 Manchester United Away Lost 0-1
Wed Oct 4     LC 3 Blackpool Away Drew 1-1
Sat Oct 7   Division 1 Birmingham City Away Won 2-1
Tue Oct 10     LC 3 replay Blackpool Home Won 3-0
Sat Oct 14   Division 1 Coventry City Home Won 2-0
Wed Oct 18     UEFA 2 - 1 Leg Standard Liege Home Won 4-0
Sat Oct 21   Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Away Drew 2-2
Sat Oct 28   Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Home Drew 2-2
Wed Nov 1     UEFA 2 - 2 Leg Standard Liege Away Lost 0-2  (4-2 aggregate)
Sat Nov 4   Division 1 Aston Villa Away Drew 1-1
Wed Nov 8     LC 4 Norwich City Away Won 3-1
Sat Nov 11   Division 1 Derby County Home Lost 1-2
Sat Nov 18   Division 1 Liverpool Away Lost 0-1
Thu Nov 23     UEFA 3 - 1 Leg AC Milan Away Drew 2-2
Sat Nov 25   Division 1 Ipswich Town Home Lost 1-2
Wed Dec 6     UEFA 3 - 2 Leg AC Milan Home Won 3-0  (5-2 aggregate)
Sat Dec 9   Division 1 Southampton Home Lost 1-2
Tue Dec 12     LC 5 Southampton Away Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 16   Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Away Lost 1-2
Sat Dec 23   Division 1 Nottingham Forest Home Drew 0-0
Tue Dec 26   Division 1 Everton Away Lost 0-1
Sat Dec 30   Division 1 Bristol City Away Drew 1-1
Sat Jan 13   Division 1 Leeds United Away Drew 1-1
Mon Jan 15     FAC 3 Rotherham United Home Drew 0-0
Wed Jan 17     FAC 3 replay Rotherham United Away Won 4-2
Sat Jan 20   Division 1 Chelsea Home Lost 2-3
Sat Jan 27     FAC 4 Shrewsbury Town Away Lost 0-2
Sat Feb 3   Division 1 Tottenham Hotspur Away Won 3-0
Sat Feb 10   Division 1 Manchester United Home Lost 0-3
Sat Feb 24 Division 1 Coventry City Away Won 3-0
Tue Feb 27 Division 1 Norwich City Home Drew 2-2
Sat Mar 3 Division 1 Bolton Wanderers Home Won 2-1
Wed Mar 7     UEFA 4 - 1 Leg Borussia Moenchengladbach Home Drew 1-1
Wed Mar 20     UEFA 4 - 2 Leg Borussia Moenchengladbach Away Lost 1-3  (2-4 aggregate)
Sat Mar 24 Division 1 Arsenal Away Drew 1-1
Tue Mar 27 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Away Drew 1-1
Sat Mar 31 Division 1 Ipswich Town Away Lost 1-2
Wed Apr 4 Division 1 West Bromwich Albion Away Lost 0-4
Sat Apr 7 Division 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers Home Won 3-1
Sat Apr 14 Division 1 Everton Home Drew 0-0
Tue Apr 17 Division 1 Middlesbrough Away Lost 0-2
Sat Apr 21 Division 1 Queens Park Rangers Home Won 3-1
Tue Apr 24 Division 1 Middlesbrough Home Won 1-0
Sat Apr 28 Division 1 Southampton Away Lost 0-1
Tue May 1 Division 1 Birmingham City Home Won 3-1
Sat May 5 Division 1 Bristol City Home Won 2-0
Wed May 9 Division 1 Nottingham Forest Away Lost 1-3
Tue May 15     Division 1 Aston Villa Home Lost 2-3

 


Did You Know.....

..that when Graeme Souness gave Ali Dia his Premier League debut it was probably the most embarrassing experience any manager had suffered!

Read more about this and other Whoops! moments...
Click on
Did You Know?

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk