League Cup
                                                   1960/61  Results

Did not enter - Arsenal, Sheffield Wednesday, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion, Wolverhampton Wanderers

First Round

First Round byes (a random draw) - Aldershot, Aston Villa, Birmingham, Blackpool, Bournemouth, Bradford City, Brentford, Brighton, Bristol City, Burnley, Bury, Chesterfield, Crewe, Doncaster, Gillingham, Grimsby, Halifax, Huddersfield, Leeds, Liverpool, Luton, Manchester City, Northampton, Norwich, Notts County, Nottingham Forest, Portsmouth, Reading, Rotherham, Sheffield United, Shrewsbury, Southend, Stoke, Sunderland, Swansea, Swindon, Torquay, Tranmere, Walsall, Workington, Wrexham.

Mon Sep 26 Bristol Rovers2-1Fulham
Wed Oct 12 Chester2-2Leyton Orient
Mon Oct 17 Leyton Orient1-0

Chester

Mon Oct 10 Colchester United4-1Newcastle United
Mon Oct 10 Coventry City4-2Barrow
Wed Oct 12 Darlington2-0Crystal Palace
Wed Oct 12 Everton3-1Accrington Stanley
Wed Oct 19 Exeter City1-1Manchester United
Wed Oct 26 Manchester United4-1

Exeter City

Mon Oct 10 Hull City0-0Bolton Wanderers
Wed Oct 19 Bolton Wanderers5-1

Hull City

Tue Oct 11 Ipswich Town0-2Barnsley
Wed Oct 12 Leicester City4-0Mansfield Town
Wed Oct 12 Lincoln City2-2Bradford Park Avenue
Wed Oct 19 Bradford Park Avenue1-0

Lincoln City

Mon Oct 3 Middlesbrough3-4Cardiff City
Mon Oct 10 Millwall1-7Chelsea
Mon Oct 10 Newport County2-2Southampton
Mon Oct 17 Southampton2-2

Newport County

Wed Oct 26 Southampton5-3

Newport County

Tue Oct 11 Oldham Athletic2-1Hartlepools United
Wed Oct 12 Plymouth Argyle2-0Southport
Tue Oct 11 Preston North End4-1Peterborough United
Mon Oct 17 Queens Park Rangers2-2Port Vale
Wed Oct 19 Port Vale3-1

Queens Park Rangers

Mon Oct 10 Rochdale1-1Scunthorpe United
Thu Oct 20 Scunthorpe United0-1

Rochdale

Mon Oct 10 Stockport County2-0Carlisle United
Tue Oct 11 Watford2-5Derby County
Mon Sep 26 West Ham United3-1Charlton Athletic
Mon Oct 10 York City1-3Blackburn Rovers
Second Round       
Mon Oct 10 Aldershot1-1

Bristol City

Tue Oct 25 Bristol City3-0

Aldershot

Wed Oct 12 Aston Villa4-1Huddersfield Town
Wed Oct 26 Bolton Wanderers6-2Grimsby Town
Wed Oct 12 Bournemouth1-1Crewe Alexandra
Wed Oct 19 Crewe Alexandra2-0

Bournemouth

Mon Oct 31 Bradford Park Avenue0-1Birmingham City
Wed Nov  2 Bradford City2-1Manchester United
Tue Oct 25 Brentford4-3Sunderland
Tue Oct 11 Bury3-1Sheffield United
Mon Oct 24 Cardiff City0-4Burnley
Mon Oct 24 Chelsea4-2Workington
Mon Oct 31 Colchester United0-2Southampton
Mon Oct 24 Darlington3-2West Ham United
Wed Oct 19 Derby County3-0Barnsley
Tue Oct 18 Doncaster Rovers3-1Stoke City
Mon Oct 31 Everton3-1Walsall
Wed Oct 19 Gillingham1-1Preston North End
Tue Oct 25 Preston North End3-0

Gillingham

Wed Sep 28 Leeds United0-0Blackpool
Wed Oct 5 Blackpool1-3

Leeds United

Wed Oct 26 Leicester City1-2Rotherham United
Mon Nov 14 Leyton Orient0-1Chesterfield
Wed Oct 19 Liverpool1-1Luton Town
Mon Oct 24 Luton Town2-5

Liverpool

Tue Oct 18 Manchester City3-0Stockport County
Tue Oct 18 Northampton Town1-1Wrexham
Tue Oct 25 Wrexham2-0

Northampton Town

Wed Oct 26 Norwich City6-2Oldham Athletic
Thu Oct 6 Nottingham Forest2-0Halifax Town
Thu Oct 20 Notts County1-3Brighton & Hove Albion
Wed Nov 2 Torquay United1-1 Plymouth Argyle
(the venue was switched to Plymouth's Home Park ground - see note)
Mon Nov  7 Plymouth Argyle 2 -1

Torquay United

Mon Oct 24 Port Vale0-2Tranmere Rovers
Wed Nov 2 Portsmouth2-0Coventry City
Wed Oct 12 Reading3-5Bristol Rovers
Tue Oct 25 Rochdale5-2Southend United
Tue Oct 18 Swansea Town1-2Blackburn Rovers
Wed Oct 12 Swindon Town1-1Shrewsbury Town
Mon Oct 24 Shrewsbury Town2-2

Swindon Town

Wed Oct 26 Swindon Town0-2 Shrewsbury Town
Third Round
Mon Nov  14 Birmingham City0-0Plymouth Argyle
Wed Nov 16 Plymouth Argyle3-1

Birmingham City

Mon Nov 21 Blackburn Rovers2-1Rochdale
Tue Nov 22 Brentford1-1Burnley
Tue Dec 6 Burnley2-1

Brentford

Wed Nov 16 Brighton & Hove Albion0-2Wrexham
Wed Nov 23 Chesterfield0-4Leeds United
Mon Nov 14 Darlington1-2Bolton Wanderers
Mon Nov 14 Derby County1-4Norwich City
Wed Nov 16 Doncaster Rovers0-7Chelsea
Wed Nov 23 Everton3-1Bury
Wed Nov 16 Liverpool1-2Southampton
Tue Nov 15 Nottingham Forest2-1Bristol City
Mon Nov 21 Portsmouth 2-0Manchester City
Tue Nov 15 Preston North End3-3Aston Villa
Wed Nov 23 Aston Villa3-1

Preston North End

Wed Nov 23 Rotherham United2-0Bristol Rovers
Wed Nov 16 Shrewsbury Town2-1Bradford City
Wed Nov 16 Tranmere Rovers2-0Crewe Alexandra
Fourth Round
Tue Dec 13 Aston Villa3-3Plymouth Argyle
Mon Dec 19 Plymouth Argyle0-0

Aston Villa

(the match was abandoned after 90 minutes before extra time could be played)
Mon Feb 6 Plymouth Argyle3-5

Aston Villa              

Mon Dec 5 Blackburn Rovers1-1Wrexham
Wed Dec 14 Wrexham3-1

Blackburn Rovers

Tue Dec 20 Bolton Wanderers0-2Rotherham United
Tue Jan 10 Burnley2-1Nottingham Forest
Wed Dec 14 Portsmouth1-0Chelsea
Wed Dec 14 Shrewsbury Town1-0Norwich City
Mon Dec 5 Southampton5-4Leeds United
Wed Dec 21 Tranmere Rovers0-4Everton
Fifth Round
Wed Feb

22

Aston Villa3-0Wrexham
Mon Feb 13 Rotherham United3-0Portsmouth
Wed Feb

15

Shrewsbury Town2-1Everton
Mon Feb 6 Southampton2-4Burnley
Semi-Finals (home & away legs)
Mon Apr 10 Burnley1-1Aston Villa
Wed Apr 26 Aston Villa2-2Burnley
Tue May 2 Aston Villa 2 -1

Burnley

Aston Villa won the replay at Old Trafford, Manchester United FC, after finishing the two legs 3-3 on aggregate.
Tue Mar 21 Rotherham United3-2Shrewsbury Town
Wed Mar 29 Shrewsbury Town1-1Rotherham United
Rotherham won 4-3 on aggregate
Final (home & away legs played at the start of the 1961/2 season)
Tue Aug

22

Rotherham United2-0Aston Villa
Tue Sep

5

Aston Villa3-0Rotherham United
Aston Villa won 3-2 on aggregate
         
 

Note - In what was to be their first ever match in the League Cup Torquay United were drawn at home to neighbours Plymouth Argyle and the match was due to have taken place at Plainmoor on Wednesday October 26th. However heavy rain forced the postponement of the match which was then arranged to be played at Plymouth's Home Park on the following Wednesday, November 2nd. That match was still technically a Torquay home game so when it ended in a 1-1 draw the replay was also held in Plymouth.

          

 

Did You Know.....
...that Torquay United once had a match postponed - because of a total eclipse of the sun!

Read more about this and other unusual postponements
Click on
Postponed Matches

 

Google
Web footballsite.co.uk